After deciding that I wanted to be an editor, I realized that I knew almost nothing about the different types of editors or what avenues I could take after graduation. I started searching the web and looking for professionals whom I could interview for more information.

One such professional that I found online was Karen Newcombe, a freelance editor and writer who also specializes in publishing and marketing. I interviewed Newcombe over Skype, and we discussed the main responsibilities of an editor, the importance of finding an internship, and how imperative it is to write every day.

Newcombe also described her experience as a freelance editor: “If you are a freelancer, you must be able to do multiple things — when I get a book I want to do part/all of the writing, the editing, the layout, and coach [the writers] through the publishing process,” she said. “Then, I want to help them market and build their author platform, so I need to have multiple talents.”

One of my biggest questions during all of the informational interviews that I conducted was whether or not I needed to go to graduate school in order to get hired. Newcombe and numerous other editors agreed that graduate school was not a necessity; unless I was planning on specializing and editing manuscripts such as scientific journals or the job market was too competitive to get a job, I should be just fine with a bachelor’s degree.

I intend to focus on editing for publishing houses, and I expressed my concern to Newcombe about the competitiveness in the publishing industry. She said, “There is a huge publishing industry for business — for example, Blue Cross Health Care… has a massive publishing department cranking out tons of newsletters, magazines, informative articles, brochures, flyers, training manuals, and much more… The computer industry needs technical writers and people who can edit technical writing. Every industry has their own associations that write newsletters for them, and there are several dozen (or several hundred) trade publications for each industry as well. The U.S. Government is the largest publisher in the world.” There are endless opportunities for editors.

After talking to seasoned editors like Newcombe, I feel more prepared to enter the world of editing.

(Photo courtesy of northeastern.edu)

5 thoughts on “Informational Interviews

  1. I’m really impressed by your “go getter” attitudes reaching out to Miss Newcombe on your own. Isn’t it amazing how technology like Skype can keep us engaged with the rest of the world? I guess it is no surprise then that there is such a need for professional writers in the growing computer industry.

    Like

  2. I am also really impressed that you actually interviewed the freelance editor/writer. I would have never thought to do that. She gave very insightful and helpful information. I never thought of the different areas of editing either.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I did not know how much work went into being a free lance editor nor did I know about the competitiveness of publishing houses. Karen Newcombe provided an insightful look on how much work goes into editing as well as how competitive a field it is.

    Like

  4. First off, the picture you chose for this post really grabbed my attention. How did you decide you wanted to become an editor? As stated above, very impressive that you interviewed the freelance writer via Skype. You should play that up with Career Services and be a resource to other students interested in professional writing.

    Like

    • I love books, but I can’t write creatively to save my life. I figured that as an editor, I could use my strength in English and Professional Writing to read and edit books all day long and still make money!

      Contacting Career Services sounds like a great idea; thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment